Latest News

52 Congressional Democrats Join Republicans to Overturn Kooky DC Council Illegal Immigrant Voting Act

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:                                                                               
WASHINGTON, DC – (May 23, 2024)- Today, with bipartisan support, Congress passed H.R. 192, which repeals the deceptively named Local Resident Voting Rights Amendment Act of 2022. Against the wishes of DC’s Democratic Mayor, the extremist far-left DC Council passed legislation to allow any individual from anywhere in the world to vote in the District of Columbia elections. After the House of Representatives voted to overturn the measure, DC GOP Chairman Patrick Mara released the following statement:

“Today, we saw another fiercely bipartisan vote to rebuke the extremist DC Council. Elections in Washington, D.C., should not be open to noncitizens, illegal immigrants, foreign nationals, or foreign diplomats. Voting is an American’s inalienable right, and we should not cheapen voting or dilute the votes of Americans by creating free-for-all elections. Indeed, fifty-two Congressional Democrats agreed again that the DC Council’s radical agenda must be stopped.”

“Since the inception of the Local Resident Voting Act, we have been vocal about our concerns on and off of Capitol Hill. The bipartisan repeal of this act echoes the widespread concern among Americans about election integrity. Unfortunately, it is unlikely that Democrat leader Chuck Schumer will allow the Senate to vote on this measure and, thus, his obstruction will ensure that local elections in our Nation’s Capital will be a national disgrace, the results of which are dubious,” said Mara.

“Along with the DC Council’s inaction on public safety, their legislative idiocy on noncitizen voting will have political ramifications this November and for years to come. We will most certainly look to include provisions opposing noncitizen voting in the District of Columbia in the national platform this summer at the 2024 Republican National Convention,” concluded Mara.

The DC Republican Party is composed of registered Republicans living throughout the District of Columbia in all eight wards who are nominated and elected to serve as members. It is a state party with three elected members of the 168-member Republican National Committee.

For further information or comments on the results, please contact Nicole M. McClure, Executive Director of the DC Republican Committee, at

Join the Party

Republican Party of