Latest News

The DC Republican Party Celebrates Its Candidates and Looks to 2024


The DC Republican Party Celebrates Its Candidates and Looks to 2024

Washington, DC – (November 9, 2022) 

Yesterday, a final round of Washingtonians voted in the 2022 District of Columbia municipal elections. DC voters have not seen more registered Republican candidates on the ballot since the 1980s. Further, this election represented the first election a DC Republican has been endorsed by the editorial board of the Washington Post in almost a decade. 

Patrick Mara, Chairman of the DC Republican Party, stated, “We congratulate all our Republican candidates who stepped up and provided choices to DC voters at the ballot box. I am extremely grateful for all the hard work and sacrifice of our candidates: Stacia Hall (Mayor), Nelson Rimensnyder (Delegate), Giuseppe Niosi (DC Council, At-Large), David Krucoff (DC Council, Ward 3), Clarence Lee (DC Council, Ward 5), and Nate Derenge (DC Council, Chairman). Hats off, too, to Nina O’Neill for her DC Board of Education run in Ward 5. I am also pleased to see we increased the number of Republicans elected to Advisory Neighborhood Commissions.” 

He continued,” This was a significant year for the DC GOP as we worked to rebuild and bring a new voice to the District. District residents deserve better than destructive national progressive policies advocated by outside special interests. The DC GOP will continue to hold the Mayor, Council, and every newly elected official responsible for their decisions that impact the well-being of our city. There has never been a more critical time for a vibrant multi-party system in the District. The highly successful advocacy of national progressive groups has been detrimental to public safety, public education, and economic opportunity here in the District of Columbia.”  

For further information, please contact Nicole M. McClure, Executive Director of the DC Republican Committee, at

The DC Republican Committee is composed of registered Republicans living throughout the District of Columbia in all eight wards nominated and elected to serve as members.


Join the Party

Republican Party of