Latest News

The DC Council Virtue Signals With Yet Another Woke Vote


The DC Council Virtue Signals With Yet Another Woke Vote

Washington, D.C. – (October 5, 2022) 

Yesterday, the DC Council held the first of two votes on a bill allowing the District’ illegal aliens to vote in all local elections. The bill would open the door for noncitizens to vote for mayor, attorney general,DC Council, DC State Board of Education, and Advisory Neighborhood Commissions.

Patrick Mara, Chairman of the DC Republican Committee, stated, “Only United States Citizens should vote in elections in the United States of America. No other advanced Democracy allows noncitizens to vote in their elections. It is not that we do not believe immigrants have rights, but non of those are the right to vote.” Mara continued, “The very nature of being undocumented is that we do not know who you are. How do we know the voter is a resident? What makes you a resident? How will you prove you are a resident at a time when Republicans, Democrats and Independents have questions about the administration of our elections?”

Mara, a former elected member of the DC State Board of Education representing the Ward with the highest concentration of immigrants, added, “Now is not the time to be adding an incalculable degree of uncertainty and inviting fraud into our elections. Undocumented residents can testify at council meetings, participate in campaigns, and enjoy many liberties derived from our Constitution. Free speech is among them, but voting myst only be afforded to our citizens.”

He concluded, “This is yet another example of the DC Council virtual signaling on an issue. In a 12-1 vote, they are using yet another woke issue as a smokescreen to avoid any media or public scrutiny on the numerous areas where they are failing, such as public safety, Covid recovery, and public education, to name a few. Mayor Bowser must veto this woke bill on noncitizens voting.”

For further information, please contact Nicole M. McClure, Executive Director of the DC Republican Committee, at

The DC Republican Committee is composed of registered Republicans living throughout the District of Columbia in all eight wards nominated and elected to serve as members.


Join the Party

Republican Party of