Latest News

Patrick Mara Elected Chairman of the DC Republican Committee


 WASHINGTON – During its biennial organizational meeting, the DC Republican Committee (DCRC) elected Patrick Mara as its Chairman in a vote held via Zoom on Thursday, January 14, 2021.

Chairman Mara is a consultant and small business owner and married father of two DC Public School students. He previously was the Republican nominee for DC Council, At-Large, and is the first Republican elected to serve on the DC State Board of Education. A past Executive Committee member, Mara was the Executive Director of the DCRC from 2015 to 2017.  

Upon his election, Mara noted, “These are difficult times in the District of Columbia. Now more than ever, our city needs a multi-party system of government. The DC Council is as far left as it has ever been and Councilmembers will most certainly look to raise taxes this year. Troubled times are ahead for District taxpayers.” He continued, “The DC Republican Committee will be a champion of small businesses and entrepreneurship; speak out to defend our law enforcement officers and promote public safety; and continue to advocate for parental choice in education.” Mara added, “While we’re at it, we must get students back to school and get businesses – especially restaurants and hospitality – at least partially operational again.”

The DC Republican Committee also elected a number of other officers to its Executive Committee. The new and returning officers are: Vice Chairman, Joanne Young, Ward 3; Secretary, Brett McManaman, Ward 1 (re-elected); and Republican National Committeeman José Cunningham, Ward 2. Mara re-appointed Michael McHugh, Ward 1, to continue serving as Treasurer of the DCRC. Chairman Mara resides in the Randle Highlands neighborhood of Ward 7.

Mara will appoint a number of other members to his Executive Committee to complement the party’s management team. For further information, contact Patrick Mara at (202) 276-5859.

The DC Republican Committee is made up of registered Republicans living throughout the District of Columbia in all eight wards who are nominated and elected to serve as members.


Join the Party

Republican Party of