January 5, 2016

Contact: Patrick Mara

WASHINGTON – On Monday, January 4, Senator Rand Paul became the tenth and final Republican candidate for President of the United States to qualify for the ballot at the March 12, 2016 District of Columbia Republican state party convention. The DC Republican Party issued the following statement on Senator Paul’s official qualification onto the District of Columbia Republican Ballot:

DC Republican Party Chairman José Cunningham stated, “Rand Paul is a champion of reigning in spending, reducing our national debt and simplifying our tax code. While he is a fiscal conservative’s conservative, he is also a trained ophthalmologist with a long history in both healthcare and in politics. ” Added Cunningham, “Senator Paul’s strong support of civil liberties and criminal justice reforms uniquely positions him with District voters. Paul voters seem to do well at Conventions and Senator Paul will no doubt turn out his voters on March 12.”

Paul’s District of Columbia Republican Party ballot access is tenth following Dr. Ben Carson, Senator Ted Cruz, Donald Trump, Governor John Kasich, Carly Fiorina, Governor Chris Christie, Governor Jeb Bush, Senator Marco Rubio and Rick Santorum. The District of Columbia ballot access deadline for Republican Presidential candidates was January 4, 2016 at 5:00 PM EST.

The District of Columbia Republican Party State Convention will be held on Saturday, March 12, 2016, from 10:00 am to 2:00 pm at a site yet to be determined in Washington, DC. Candidates will compete for 16 proportionately allocated Delegates to the Republican National Convention in Cleveland, Ohio, where the Republican candidate for President of the United States will be officially nominated. In addition to selecting Presidential candidates and 16 Delegates at the March 12 convention, District of Columbia Republicans registered to vote in DC by January 1, 2016, will also have the opportunity to select 16 Alternates to the Republican National Convention.

For further information or comments, contact Patrick Mara at (202) 863-5394 or

The DC Republican Party Committee is made up of registered Republicans living throughout the District of Columbia in all eight wards who are nominated and elected to serve as members. The party is lead by Chairman José Cunningham, National Committeeman Bob Kabel, National Committeewoman Jill Homan and other members of the Executive Committee.

# # #

Paid for by the DC Republican Party. Rod Johnson, Treasurer. A copy of our report is filed with the Director of Campaign Finance.
Contributions are not deductible for federal income tax purposes. Contributions from foreign nationals are prohibited.

About the Author: