December 21, 2015
Contact: Patrick Mara
WASHINGTON – On Monday, December 21, Senator Marco Rubio became the eighth Republican candidate for President of the United States to qualify for the ballot at the March 12, 2016 District of Columbia Republican state party convention. The DC Republican Party issued the following statement on Senator Rubio’s official qualification onto the District of Columbia Republican Ballot:
DC Republican Party Chairman José Cunningham noted, “Marco Rubio may be a fresh face on the national stage, but he is a star Senator and former Speaker of the Florida House of Representatives.” Cunningham continued, “Senator Rubio is an inspiring role model with an incredible life story. His message of opportunity, freedom and the gravity of national security transcends generational politics. Most importantly, he believes America does not owe him. Rather, he believes that he owes America for the opportunities that our country has given him and his family. We are thrilled to welcome him to our ballot on March 12th.”
Rubio’s District of Columbia Republican Party ballot access is eighth following Dr. Ben Carson, Senator Ted Cruz, Donald Trump, Governor John Kasich, Carly Fiorina, Governor Chris Christie and Governor Jeb Bush. Several other major Republican Presidential candidates may file for DC ballot access prior to the January 4, 2016deadline.
The District of Columbia Republican Party State Convention will be held onSaturday, March 12, 2016, from 10:00 am to 2:00 pm at a site yet to be determined in Washington, DC. Candidates will compete for 16 proportionately allocated Delegates to the Republican National Convention in Cleveland, Ohio, where the Republican candidate for President of the United States will be officially nominated. In addition to selecting Presidential candidates and 16 Delegates at the March 12 convention, District of Columbia Republicans registered to vote in DC byJanuary 1, 2016, will also have the opportunity to select 16 Alternates to the Republican National Convention.
For further information or comments, contact Patrick Mara at (202) 863-5394
The DC Republican Party Committee is made up of registered Republicans living throughout the District of Columbia in all eight wards who are nominated and elected to serve as members. The party is lead by Chairman José Cunningham, National Committeeman Bob Kabel, National Committeewoman Jill Homan and other members of the Executive Committee.
 # # #
Paid for by the DC Republican Party. Rod Johnson, Treasurer. A copy of our report is filed with the Director of Campaign Finance.
Contributions are not deductible for federal income tax purposes. Contributions from foreign nationals are prohibited.

About the Author: