December 3, 2015

Contact: Patrick Mara                                                                                                 

WASHINGTON – On Thursday, December 3, Ohio Governor John Kasich became the fourth Republican candidate for President of the United States to qualify for the ballot at the March 12, 2016 District of Columbia Republican state party convention. The DC Republican Party issued the following statement on Governor Kasich’s official qualification onto the District of Columbia Republican Ballot:

DC Republican Party Chairman José Cunningham stated, “We are pleased to welcome Governor John Kasich to our Presidential contest in the District of Columbia. His leadership on budget issues in Congress and executive experience as Governor of Ohio make him a formidable candidate for President.”  

Kasich’s District of Columbia Republican Party ballot access is fourth following Dr. Ben Carson, Senator Ted Cruz, and Donald Trump. At least ten of the fourteen major Republican Presidential candidates are expected to file for DC ballot access.  

The District of Columbia Republican Party State Convention will be held on Saturday, March 12, 2016, from 10:00 am to 2:00 pm at a site yet to be determined in Washington, DC. Candidates will compete for 16 proportionately allocated Delegates to the Republican National Convention in Cleveland, Ohio, where the Republican candidate for President of the United States will be officially nominated. In addition to selecting Presidential candidates and 16 Delegates at the March 12 convention, District of Columbia Republicans registered to vote in DC by January 1, 2016, will also have the opportunity to select 16 Alternates to the Republican National Convention.  

For further information or comments, contact Patrick Mara at (202) 863-5394 or

The DC Republican Party Committee is made up of registered Republicans living throughout the District of Columbia in all eight wards who are nominated and elected to serve as members. The party is lead by Chairman José Cunningham, National Committeeman Bob Kabel, National Committeewoman Jill Homan and other members of the Executive Committee.   

# # #


Paid for by the DC Republican Party. Rod Johnson, Treasurer. A copy of our report is filed with the Director of Campaign Finance.

Contributions are not deductible for federal income tax purposes. Contributions from foreign nationals are prohibited.

About the Author: