December 17, 2015

Contact: Patrick Mara

WASHINGTON – On Thursday, December 17, Governor Jeb Bush became the seventh Republican candidate for President of the United States to qualify for the ballot at the March 12, 2016 District of Columbia Republican state party convention. The DC Republican Party issued the following statement on Governor Bush’s official qualification onto the District of Columbia Republican Ballot:

DC Republican Party Chairman José Cunningham noted, “Jeb Bush is a highly successful former Governor of Florida, a swing state Republicans need to win the Presidency. He is among the most experienced candidates to make our ballot.” Cunningham continued, “During Governor Bush’s tenure in Florida he reduced taxes by $19 billion and vetoed $2 billion in spending. That, along with his emphasis on public education reform will most certainly resonate with District voters. We are thrilled to have him on the DC ballot.”

Bush’s District of Columbia Republican Party ballot access is seventh following Dr. Ben Carson, Senator Ted Cruz, Donald Trump, Governor John Kasich, Carly Fiorina and Governor Chris Christie. Up to five additional major Republican Presidential candidates are expected to file for DC ballot access prior to the January 4, 2016 deadline.

The District of Columbia Republican Party State Convention will be held on Saturday, March 12, 2016, from 10:00 am to 2:00 pm at a site yet to be determined in Washington, DC. Candidates will compete for 16 proportionately allocated Delegates to the Republican National Convention in Cleveland, Ohio, where the Republican candidate for President of the United States will be officially nominated. In addition to selecting Presidential candidates and 16 Delegates at the March 12 convention, District of Columbia Republicans registered to vote in DC by January 1, 2016, will also have the opportunity to select 16 Alternates to the Republican National Convention.

For further information or comments, contact Patrick Mara at (202) 863-5394 or

The DC Republican Party Committee is made up of registered Republicans living throughout the District of Columbia in all eight wards who are nominated and elected to serve as members. The party is lead by Chairman José Cunningham, National Committeeman Bob Kabel, National Committeewoman Jill Homan and other members of the Executive Committee.

# # #

Paid for by the DC Republican Party. Rod Johnson, Treasurer. A copy of our report is filed with the Director of Campaign Finance.
Contributions are not deductible for federal income tax purposes. Contributions from foreign nationals are prohibited.

About the Author: